Skip to content

EdenFallacys

May 21, 2010

It seems that while I have broken no rules of conduct much less posted in the forums since Epiphora’s wrongful banning, that my own account was locked tonight without any warning or explanation.  While EdenFantasy Staff cannot be expect staff to monitor the forum 24 hours a day you can bet that they have a watchful eye on twitter at all hours of the day.

Not more than twenty minutes after I tweeted to Epiphora to add me to her list of those who were leaving #Edenfallacys was I suddenly logged off of my EdenFantasys account. Upon trying to log back in red text glared on the screen stating that my account had been locked and I needed to call customer service.

WAY TO GO EDENFALLACYS! You’ve banned/locked/’cooled-off’ my account due to something that I said off-site. Not only did you ban me based on something I said off site without mentioning you, you also did not provide a warning or e-mail as to your explanation of such. I know it’s not personal because other reviewers have voiced they too were locked out. Of course you don’t owe me an explanation, as you’ve made it clear you owe NO ONE a truthful explanation for anything. We’re all just lying right? Right.

At first I was on the fence  of continuing to review for Eden after the way staff responded (or lack there of) to the concerns and questions surrounding Epiphora’s banning. However the recent behavior of deleting threads/posts containing concerns voiced by other contributors after the discovery of Edens unethical link farming while claiming that they do not delete or alter threads and posts in combination of banning my account for no GOOD reason aside from being butt-hurt has only reaffirmed my decision.

We are not children to whom you can say, “YOU’RE GROUNDED GO TO YOUR ROOM!” *banhammer*, instead we are adults with real questions and concerns about the company that claims to care about what the contributors think. If you have nothing to hide then you would not be deleting posts and threads. Instead you would ease the concerns with an answer that makes sense rather than a pile of bullshit containirng bullshit examples that was proven to be bullshit. Sorry Eden, but some of us are not sheep. You can’t just pull the wool over our eyes and scold us for daring to say something that isn’t filled with the sounds of puckering lips.

It’s no doubt that Eden has fucked up. It’s not just the contributors anymore. Other sex toy companies and sex celebrities have noticed as well. Hell even Tristan Taormino retweeted the problem. This is growing and I cannot even predict the impact that it could have. As the saying goes, “Just one upset customer can be the end of your business.”  That one then becomes hundreds. Word of mouth in today’s internet advanced society is a powerful thing.

To clear up any confusion I’m not even upset about my account being locked, nor would I expect my leaving Eden to matter. I understand that I’m expendable. There will always be someone else to take my place because they can acquire free sex toys.  It’s more about morals and ethics. I do not keep friends around who are two faced liars who expect to walk all over me, why would I work for a company that does?

If anyone is interested in free sex toys, there are far better and honest companies who provide a quality and caring sex reviewing program. A few examples are AdultSexToys, Babeland, PinkCherry, Fascinations and MyTickleSpot. As you can see there is no shortage.

With that said I look forward to seeing the results of the way all of this was handled and how Eden plans to backpedal it.

5/25 @ 3:37am: Violet Blue alluded that she will be addressing her thoughts on EdenFallacy’s Link Farming.
5/25 @ 3:33am: OH NOES! EdenFallacys is keeping track of us! Others who’ve written about this matter have had multiple referrals from the secret staff forum as well.
5/21 @ 7:58pm: Even Babeland has retweeted other companies that have REAL sex-positive community and practices.
5/21 @ 5:45pm: Add Bettersex to the list of companies that have noticed.

If you like my banner at the top feel free to use it! I encourage it.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 9:24 am

    You’re AWESOME Julietta!

  2. anon permalink
    May 21, 2010 9:37 am

    OMG! You’re being held accountable for your actions and words!

    ZOMG YOU’RE SO AWESOME THAT YOU HAVE TO POST ANONYMOUSLY 71.227.123.156! PHEAR!
    -Juliettia

  3. May 21, 2010 1:08 pm

    When all this cools off, I think we need to aggregate all the posts about EF on one site (or page) all linked together from everyone’s blogs…with your graphic.

    What do you think?

  4. May 21, 2010 4:05 pm

    Your links are golden. I especially like the screenshot you took about NO CENSORSHIP!. This post is great, too, because people need to know that you were locked for — well, unethical reasons.

  5. May 21, 2010 5:10 pm

    These screencaps are golden.

  6. May 21, 2010 5:36 pm

    Wow that post from Gary is priceless; I was watching the recent threads about linakge as posts appeared and disappeared. Don’t delete threads or posts? Yeah, that’s going to be a difficult one to support when we all saw it.

    These people are amazing. They think they can spin this and control it.

  7. May 21, 2010 8:20 pm

    I have also been banned from EdenFantasys and also think the whole “cooling off period” explanation is bullshit. Does EF really think that we’ll just cool off and go back and be all “Oh yeah, it’s cool. I’M COOLED OFF NOW. Everything is just butterflies and rainbows and oh yeah, EF rocks?” I really, really, really don’t think so.

    I also think Aag’s idea of a list of links after everyone has had the chance to blog about EF’s unethical treatment of their contributors is awesome.

    I used your graphic for a post done on my other blog about the linking practices, which can be seen here: http://menstrualpoetry.com/edenfantasyss-unethical-technology-selfreferential-black-hole I don’t mean to seem like a spammer, but wanted to let you know where the graphic was used, so when you see this, you can delete the linkage section, feel free.

    Thanks for your post and for your graphic, it is awesome.

    • May 21, 2010 9:52 pm

      You’re fine.

      Also, the whole explanation for the cooling-off period is BS. There are many who RARELY visit the forum, so how on earth would they see these important updates concerning not being a sheep?! Had someone not linked me to the thread I wouldn’t have known.

  8. May 21, 2010 9:26 pm

    With the way the internet is working, FC is definitely going to be getting what is coming to them especially in the review pages. To lock out their members because they have a different opinion that is not their own is a lack of manner and grace. FC really needs to go back to grade school to learn the basics of manner; because while they can shut out people from their sites, individuals who will get the word out like you Juliettia will be shouting it out loud. Great read.

    • May 21, 2010 10:47 pm

      Definitely. Word of mouth is a very powerful thing. The more people who blog and spread the word the better. Thanks for reading.

  9. Shan Ridenour permalink
    May 31, 2010 6:36 am

    I appreciate the info.

  10. July 15, 2010 3:27 pm

    Julietta, I’m joining the boycott and I used your image! You can read my post on EF @ http://bdsm-sexperts.blogspot.com/2010/07/edens-fantasy-dilemma-or-why-im-through.html. Thanks for the image!

    • July 15, 2010 9:02 pm

      Thanks for letting me know. 🙂 I’m glad my image was useful.

Trackbacks

  1. Link Roundup: Eden Fantasys? More like Epic Fail « Heartbreak Nymphomania
  2. Edenfantasys’s unethical technology is a self-referential black hole | Menstrual Poetry
  3. EdenFallacys…Errrrrrrrr, EdenFantasys.com: Now Officially The BP Of Sex Toy Websites…Except That All That Flows From Their Well Is BS (Updated) | The SmackDog Chronicles (Ver. 2.6)

Leave a comment